Hi.

If you are a dreamer, come in,
If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar,
A hope-er, a pray-er, a magic bean buyer…
If you’re a pretender, come sit by my fire
For we have some flax-golden tales to spin.
Come in!
Come in!

Invitation by Shel Silverstein

So I went and did it. I had been thinking about it for quite some time, threatening it for a little while, and now I’ve done it. This is my blog. Well, my grown-up blog. I had (have) a LiveJournal account that’s still kicking, but it’s pretty painful for me to read now. This is something different. Less diary, more writing. That’s really what this is all about, writing. I don’t think I’m very good at it, and in taking the advice of my favourite author, I’m going to work on getting better by writing more. Yes, there are going to be errors. Punctuation, spelling (less likely, but nonetheless), syntax, sentence structure, etc. I’m probably going to irritate someone at some point. Hell, I irritate myself sometimes. But I’ve got a plan…

So I’m thinking I’ll do several different types of posts, posting something twice a week. I think I’m going to do Tuesdays and Fridays. I can’t say how long each post will be, and I surely cannot guarantee any quality, but it should be interesting. To me at least…

So, types of posts: I have always wanted to write about music, so one type will be me talking about albums in My Collection. I know the previous statement dates me, but I still much prefer obtaining my music through albums. There is something about the song selection and overall composition of an album I find appealing. The possibility of unearthing a hidden gem. The way one song can flow into the next. The anticipation of the next song.

The next type of post will be what I’m going to call In Defense of. This is going to be where I take something, usually a movie but not limited to that, and talk about why I think it has a bum rap. I might think of it as under-rated, or it might actually by bad, but I’m going to try and argue why it should be at least appreciated. Look for the year end In Defense of My Blog in December…

And finally, you, my dear reader, will get to read my Ramblings. These will be my mind-wanderings. Probably my own personal written versions of Flula’s two minute videos. These will probably be when I haven’t prepared, or don’t want to write, a real post. Yeah, these might be most of my posts.

So, onward. I have lies to tell. Lies, damned lies, and statistics…