And so it begins. Yes, I have several AC/DC albums. Take heart. those who don’t like them, I won’t be covering anything from my box set, only single purchase studio albums. This time up, the 1976 epic, High Voltage.

I most likely have an above average interest in AC/DC. I certainly know people who are into them to a much higher degree than I am, but I would also certainly count myself as an ardent fan. Especially of the Bon Scott era material, although The Razor’s Edge (which I will be discussing) and the Who Made Who (which, as a soundtrack, I will not be covering) have significant personal memories and feelings attached to them.

My first experience with the band was the aforementioned Who Made Who. It was one of two albums that made up my first ever CD purchase. I’m going to keep you in suspense as to what the other one was. Hint: it was the ninties, so think hair. And Pie. Anyway, I had heard their stuff previously through an older cousin of mine, so I thought I was prepared for what was to come on the album. Nope. Right from “play” they had me. Later, when I figured out they had a different lead singer on their earlier albums (and one of the tracks on Who Made Who) I was skeptical, but quickly discovered that he was even better. Now I enjoy the vocal stylings of Brian Johnson, as apparently Bon did as well, but Bon was the man. Especially when in front of AC/DC.

On this album, the international release, you start off with seemingly straightforward, signature, AC/DC sound: It’s a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock ‘n’ Roll). That ryff, those guitars, Bon’s voice. The thing that really sold me on this track? The bagpipes. Now that’s Scottish rock. The theme continues on track 2 with Rock ‘n’ Roll Singer. This song is made by the lyrics. I really think Bon’s lyrics were under-rated. Some of his lones are absolute gold. Best line in this song? “I hear it pays well.”Solid track after track follow until we get to a little magic on track 5. T.N.T. motherfuckers. If that song doesn’t make you want to pick up a guitar (or at least an air guitar) you might be a little dead inside. Right from the opening power chord, the chant. I still get chills when I hear it in headphones.

Hold on, I’m going to plug in right now…

Mmmmmmmmmm, yeah. Brings back memories of senior prom. Seriously.

Next up is a throwback to earlier releases, from the ’74 Aussie only relase, Can I Sit Next to You Girl pulls its weight on the album and fits really well, but is hardly memorable when juxtaposed with them. Little Lover is Bon slinking around vocally, a precursor to some of their better slow paced material. Finally, the last two tracks are the best song I’ve ever heard played at a wedding, She’s Got Balls, and the title track High Voltage. Both are classics in their own right, with High Voltage seemingly forgotten by current playlists. Tragic, as it is as good an example of what makes AC/DC endure. Solid guitar work, relatable lyrics, and fun.